Ballon d’Or: Onana, Bono nominated for best goalkeeper award
Home » Rush Sports News » Ballon d’Or: Onana, Bono nominated for best goalkeeper award
Ballon d’Or: Onana, Bono nominated for best goalkeeper award

By Mangek Promise 


Cameroon and Manchester United goalkeeper Andre Onana, along with Morocco’s Yassine Bono, are among the ten shotstoppers nominated for the Yashin trophy in the 2023 Ballon d’Or award.


Onana, who spent last season with Serie A side Inter Milan, was vital to the Nerazzurri’s success in the 2022–23 season. The Cameroon goalie helped Inter win the Italian Super Cup and the Coppa Italia, including helping them to the final of the UEFA Champions League, in which he won the Golden Glove with eight clean sheets.


Bono also enjoyed a brilliant spell with Morocco at the 2022 FIFA World Cup, where they made history as the first African team to reach the semifinals of the tournament. He helped Sevilla triumph in the UEFA Europa League, winning the man of the match award in the final against Roma, and was added to the team for the competition.


The Yashin Trophy, which is voted for by past Ballon d’Or winners, has a list of strong contenders for this year’s award, with previous winner Thibaut Courtois along with treble winner and Manchester City goalkeeper Ederson topping the list of nominees. Argentine World Cup-winning goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez, Croatia’s Dominik Livakovic, Barcelona’s Marc Andre ter Stegen, Arsenal shotstopper Aaron Ramsdale, AC Milan’s Mike Maignan, and RC Lens goalie Brice Samba are all included in the list of nominees.


The winner of the 2023 Yashin trophy will be unveiled at the Ballon d’Or ceremony on Monday, October 30, at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris, France.